How To Be John Green

I know it’s been a while and I haven’t been really good at writing so much, but I’m here!  And as I speak it is the day after Christmas.  The holiday season is usually when writers whip out the whole “Christmas isn’t about presents” fiasco and I whip out my “let’s stop acting like everyone celebrates Christmas” one because for some reason, I focus on that.  But, today I want to write about someone very near and dear to my heart, John Green.

For those of you who don’t know who John Green is, he is only THE MOST AMAZING HUMAN ON EARTH!!  And really, if you haven’t heard of him by now, you should come up from under that rock.  The thing about John Green is that he is just about the king for geeks and bookworms and nerds everywhere.  My fellow nerdfighter friends (FYI that word was just underlined red, so let’s word to get “nerd fighters” added to the dictionary) and I could talk about John Green for hours, days, years, millennia.  That’s how amazing he is.

John Green is the writer of several books including The Fault in our Stars which arrives in theaters in June (!!!!).  He is also the author of Paper Towns, the book I’m reading now, and it is so amazingly fantastic; please do not spoil the ending.  In addition to this, John Green is the co-creater of the vlogbrother channel on Youtube.  I have spent late nights watching these ridiculously awesome videos.  From this channel have spawned other channels like The Lizzie Bennet Diaries and Crash Course.  I wildly recommend them.  John Green is also the brother to Hank Green, a quirky scientist and fellow Youtuber.  He is next to John on my list of favorite people ever.

So the question is, How can I be more like John Green?  Because you know, he is one of the top human beings on the planet.  To figure this out, you need to look at what makes John Green so awesome.  If you read his books and watch his videos, I think you’ll come to the same conclusion I have: John Green is so amazing because he is so relatable. His characters aren’t perfect, but have sympathetic qualities.  He tells embarrassing stories of his past so that others may use it as advice.  So to be like John Green, you have to do this.  You need to be able to connect with people.  You need to know how to make them feel better.  And this is not a trait that everyone has.  It is why John Green has earned such recognition.  But work on it, because people like this are held in the highest regard in my mind and really are the ones who make changes.

Another way to be like John Green: stop worrying about how people perceive you.  John Green is dorky, but that’s how he became famous.  And honestly, just as every high school movie ever has taught you, as soon as you let yourself go, you become happier.

Also READ!  How do you think John became so smart?

That’s all for now, but let me know what you think in the doobly-doo (comments).

John Green, if you ever read this, I’m not as creepy as I sound, but I love you!

Leave a Reply

