Calling All Grammar Nerds!

I have a problem with incorrect grammar.  It genuinely bothers me when people can’t even speak their own language correctly.  I can deal with the difficult stuff (nauseous vs. nauseated), but when people mess up basic second grade grammar, it upsets me.  It’s on social networking sites like Facebook that I really see the worst of it though.  I begin to understand why America isn’t on top intelligence wise when I see some of these.  There, their, and they’re, is it really that difficult to know which goes where?  And then there are those who substitute of for have so it’s should of, would of, could of.  Then I sigh and wonder if I need to give my friends a lesson on beginner English.  Don’t even get me started on those who write like this: ill c u sum time 😉 (for the record, I have no problem with winky faces).

I think I do have a real problem though.  During conversations, I find myself thinking, whom, not who; lie, not lay; envious, not jealous.  I completely understand that this whole article makes me sound like a horrible, shallow, pretentious, person, but bad grammar really is my pet peeve.  And isn’t that what pet peeves are supposed to be?  Something that actually isn’t that bad, but you cringe at the thought of?  Something that, when you complain about it, makes you sound like an old lady?

That was just what bothers me.  I hope I didn’t offend anyone.  I only say these things because I am so passionate about grammar (even if it sounds weird).  Please comment below!

2 thoughts on “Calling All Grammar Nerds!

  1. I think to be more grammatically correct you should have said “something the thought of which makes you cringe.” I’m poking fun here but I strongly empathize. I think the standards have eroded terribly and I find the toleration of ignorance to be quite upsetting. English isn’t an easy language and we’re all prone to make mistakes but we should never allow anyone to wear their willful ignorance as a badge of honor.

Leave a Reply

