Pompeii!!

Sorry, no I’m not talking about the volcano.

I’m talking about that amazing song by the British band, Bastille.  If you’re like me, you are a fan of alternative rock.  Unfortunately, not many other people around me are.  When I tell friends a favorite song of mine, they just give me a dazed look and after a few seconds say, “That’s by Kelly Clarkson, right?”  I usually then have to sigh and explain to them the odd name of the band and play them a clip of the song.  Even after all this, my friends still wouldn’t be as enthused as I was.

But that’s why there’s the internet!  Right?  I mean, someone out there must share my love for this song and others like it!

Back to the song.  Pompeii‘s brilliant and catchy melodies are what get you first.  They pull you in and force you to dance.  The tune is contagious.  Then you hear the lyrics:


And the walls kept tumbling down

In the city that we love

Great clouds roll over the hills

Bringing darkness from above

But if you close your eyes,

Does it almost feel like

Nothing changed at all?

And if you close your eyes,

Does it almost feel likeYou’ve been here before?

How am I gonna be an optimist about this?

How am I gonna be an optimist about this?

At first the lyrics do seem a bit silly, but after listening and singing to it a couple times, they made sense.  I think that Bastille is referring to the fact that we humans have not learned from our mistakes.  Our attitudes haven’t changed and so we keep messing up.

This could also stuck in a rut, not being able to break out of a cycle.  The person is unhappy with his life because after looking back on his life, he realizes that he hasn’t really done that much with his life.

The song might be making light out of a negative situation.  The character’s life “came tumbling down” in someway or another, but, “if you close your eyes”, he can remember when life was okay and it makes him feel better.

Or, you know, it could just be about the volcano.

Leave a Reply

