What Is the Point?

Sometimes, I get into these sad moods because I start to worry about what I’m going to do with my life.  I come up with all these ideas, but then I wonder, “What’s the point?”  I mean, we’re all going to die at some point, so what does it matter if we spend the time in between driving school buses or writing newspapers.  And then I’m given a brief sense of hope for a legacy.  That goes away once I realize that the human race is not going to live forever; it’s just a matter of when.  We could kill ourselves off in a nuclear war.  The sun could die and pull us all into an engulfing black hole.  A dominant species could arise and eat us all.  Sigh.

But then I come to the conclusion that life is all one big gift.  I don’t know the meaning of life and if or not there is a heaven, but I do know that we are here for some reason and whether we like it or not, we need to find a way to live.  I’d like to think that after death there isn’t just oblivion, but I need to live like there is, because otherwise it’ll be a waste.  I’m going to try and live my life in all shades of happy do that I can make meaning out of this weird world.

Leave a Reply

